February 26–March 1, 2021

Mendelssohn’s Scottish Symphony & Gabriel Kahane

In 1829, Felix Mendelssohn fled the bustling city for a retreat to the Scottish Highlands, returning rejuvenated with the ideas that would become his Symphony No. 3. Nearly two centuries later, our Creative Chair Gabriel Kahane explores the consequences of a different kind of retreat – one from the digital space – while asking questions about the nature of convenience, privacy, free will, and democracy in the era of the internet.


Panufnik: Katyń Epitaph
Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 3, “Scottish”
Gabriel Kahane: The Right to Be Forgotten (Oregon Symphony commission)


Carlos Kalmar, conductor
Gabriel Kahane, vocals
Oregon Symphony

Please rest assured that we will continue to put the health and safety of our patrons first. It is possible that performance dates could change. Should this happen, we will continue to provide flexible options for ticketholders, including donations, gift certificates, refunds, and exchanges for future events. For performances that take place as scheduled, standard ticket policies will remain in effect. Read the Oregon Symphony’s Promise to Patrons

This concert is part of Classical Series C


Individual concert tickets will be available this fall
Already a 2020/21 Season subscriber? Log in now to add this concert to your season.


Tickets start at $25

Select a Date

  • SAT, FEB 27, 2021, 7:30 PM
  • SUN, FEB 28, 2021, 2:00 PM
  • MON, MAR 1, 2021, 7:30 PM

Enter Promo Code:

You might also like

MARCH 5, 7 & 8, 2021

Schubert 9 & Dvořák

Revel in the joyful sounds of Schubert’s Ninth Symphony – his final orchestral masterpiece – and Dvořák’s lively Piano Concerto.

MAY 8, 9 & 10, 2021

Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto

Canadian violinist Blake Pouliot stars in one of the most dazzling showpieces in the repertoire.