Portland State University Chamber Choir

Portland State University Chamber Choir

Appears on: The Season Premiere: David Danzmayr Conducts Mahler’s Second SymphonyHandel’s Messiah, and Beethoven's Ninth Symphony

Classics Today calls The Portland State Chamber Choir “amongst the finest choirs in the world.” They are the only American choir to have won the Seghizzi International Competition for Choral Singing in Italy (2013) and the Bali International Choral Festival in Indonesia (2017). Their 2017 album The Doors of Heaven is the only album by a University chorus to hit #1 on the Billboard Classical Chart and their 2020 release Translations was named an Album of the Year by both Gramophone and Stereophile. In Summer of 2022, they will represent the United States at the World Choral Exposition in Portugal.

Dr. Ethan Sperry is the Barre Stoll Professor of Choral Music at Portland State University, Artistic Director and Conductor of the Oregon Repertory Singers, and editor of the Global Rhythms series for earthsongs music, one of the best-selling choral series in the world. Choirs under his direction have performed at over a dozen acda and nafme Conferences and have toured over twenty foreign countries. Sperry has been a frequent guest conductor for composer A. R. Rahman and serves as a consultant for the km Music Conservatory in Chennai, the first classical music school in India, which opened in 2009. 


PSU Chamber Choir Roster

Rachel Bard Soprano
Mercy Hallman Soprano
Katie Manullang Soprano
Abigail Marine Soprano
Karen Porter Soprano
Miriam Sheehan Soprano
Angela Tinio Soprano
Madison Vaughan Soprano
Lindsey Wildman Soprano
Tess Wix Soprano
Vanessa Zmolek Soprano
Olivia Alfson Alto
Shayla Bailey Alto
Isabella Bishop Alto
Emilee Brnusak Alto
Elli Fagliano Alto
Elizabeth Harper Alto
Rebecca Parsons Alto
Alyssa Paulson Alto
Julianne Rathbone Alto
Della Simone Alto
Lauren Solano Alto
Natthita Wongprom Alto
Ethan Blatter Tenor
Garrett Bond Tenor
Xavier Davidson Tenor
Reid Duhrkoop Tenor
Kaya Hellman Tenor
Brandon Hilsabeck Tenor
Avesta Mirashrafi Tenor
Simon Nissen Tenor
Noe Ramirez-Perez Tenor
Henry Alexander Bass
John Derby Bass
André Flynn Bass
John Gladen Bass
Spencer Hughes Bass
Justin Miller Bass
Jorden Moss Bass
Nicolas Nipp Bass
Ben Pierce Bass
Evan Shenk Bass
Izaak Thoms Bass