Contact: Allison Griffin
Public Relations Associate

November 2, 2007


oregon symphony features haydn and beethoven on upcoming classical program

Portland, Ore. … Cellist Ralph Kirshbaum joins guest conductor Hannu Lintu for an upcoming Oregon Symphony classical program featuring Haydn’s Cello Concerto in D major. Performances are Saturday, November 17 at 7:30 p.m., Sunday, November 18 at 7:30 p.m. and Monday, November 19 at 8 p.m. The concert is generously sponsored by Lufthansa Airlines and The Oregonian.

Founder and artistic director of the Manchester International Cello Festival, Kirshbaum has brought together distinguished cellists to celebrate the instrument, its music and musicians, and produced numerous commissions for cello from leading composers. The ninth and final festival took place in May 2007, focusing on music for cello from the British Isles. He was a top-prize winner of the First International Cassado Competition in Italy in 1969, and the only western cellist to win a prize at the Fourth International Tchaikovsky Competition in 1970. A native Texan, Kirshbaum attended Yale University where he studied with Aldo Parisot, and graduated magna cum laude and Phi Beta Kappa with highest departmental honors in music.

Finnish conductor Hannu Lintu has confirmed his position among the constellation of brilliant young Finnish conductors. He works regularly with all the major orchestras in Finland, including the Finnish Radio Symphony, Helsinki Philharmonic, Lahti Symphony and the Tampere Philharmonic. Born in Finland, Lintu began his musical studies with the cello and piano at the Sibelius Academy in Helsinki. He continued there to study conducting with Eri Klas and Jorma Panula, and later at the Accademia Chigiana in Italy with Myung Whun Chung. Lintu was first-prize winner at the 1994 Nordic Conductor’s Competition in Bergen, Finland.

Kirshbaum will be featured on Haydn’s Cello Concerto. The piece was mired in controversy for almost 200 years. It was published in 1810, but the original manuscript disappeared soon thereafter, which led to disputes about its authorship. Many believed it had been written by Anton Kraft, the principal cellist for the private orchestra of Prince Nicolaus Esterházy, Haydn’s patron. In 1951 the original manuscript resurfaced in Vienna with Haydn’s signature on it, thus ending the long argument. Rather than being composed by Kraft, Haydn wrote the concerto for Kraft in 1783, possibly for the wedding of Prince Nicolaus to Princess Maria Josepha Hermengild Liechtenstein in September of that year.

The program will conclude with Beethoven’s Symphony No. 8 in F Major.  Often eclipsed by Beethoven’s larger symphonies, the Eighth is a delightful foray into the traditional classical symphony, infused with Beethoven’s unique brand of humor and style. The composer once again defied expectation by producing a shorter, more compact work that harked directly back to the style of Mozart and Haydn.

The program also includes the Symphony’s premiere of Sibelius’ Symphony No. 6.

Tickets are $15 to $98 and may be purchased at the Oregon Symphony Ticket Office, located at 923 S.W. Washington.  Ticket office hours are Monday through Friday, 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. and Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Tickets may also be purchased anytime online at or charged by phone at (503) 228-1353 or (800) 228-7343, Monday through Friday, 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. and Saturday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Tickets are also available through or by calling (503) 790-ARTS.

Discounted tickets for groups of 10 or more are available through the group sales hotline at (503) 416-6380. 

# # #
« Current News | 2006-2007 | 2005-2006
2004-2005 | 2003-2004 | 2002-2003 | 2001-2002 »