2020 Schnitzer Wonder Award

David Douglas School District
Music Education Fund


The 2020 Schnitzer Wonder Award goes to the David Douglas School District to recognize the District’s outstanding commitment to supporting young musicians and providing comprehensive music curriculum. DDSD has been a model of dedication to and investment in the arts as a means to success for all students, regardless of social and economic background. The District has continually reinvested in its music education curriculum – including its partnerships with the Oregon Symphony – providing enriching and inspirational experiences for thousands of students in our region. The award honors the work of the District’s music educators and includes a $10,000 monetary prize to the David Douglas School District Education Foundation, to further support the music educators’ work with current and future students.

“Not only has the district removed barriers to arts access by facilitating free private lessons, but their dedication has helped create a culture in the community that values artistic expression. Students will long benefit from the positive experiences they have shared while creating music with their classmates.” – Scott Showalter

Receiving the award on behalf of the District:
Mari Schay, Music Specialist, Earl Boyles Elementary
Marlene Trigg, Orchestra Director, Alice Ott Middle School


The Schnitzer Wonder Award was created in 2015 by Jordan Schnitzer to honor his parents, Harold and Arlene Schnitzer, and their commitment to philanthropy, fairness, opportunity, education and creativity as the heart of a strong and vibrant community. The award honors an individual or organization that builds community through the next generation of artists and/or student musicians. The $10,000 prize is intended to help further the honoree’s work.

Recent Award Winners

Mariachi Una Voz, Dan Bosshardt

Metropolitan Youth Symphony, Diana Scoggins and Raúl Gómez

Dance West, Julane Stites

Pacific Youth Choir, Mia Hall Miller

BRAVO Youth Orchestras, Bonnie Reagan