March 13, 2020


Caroline Shaw

Join us for Open Music, a brand new concert series devised and hosted by Creative Chair Gabriel Kahane. For our inaugural concert, we welcome composer, violinist, and singer Caroline Shaw in advance of the Oregon Symphony premiere of her piece Partita for Eight Voices, for which she won the Pulitzer Prize in Music in 2013 at the age of 30. Interspersed with conversation between Shaw and Kahane, members of the Oregon Symphony will perform a program created by Shaw that sheds light on what makes her tick as an artist.

Select a Date


Enter Promo Code:

Tickets are $20


Open Music

“Writing music is a mysterious thing; those of us who do it professionally are continually baffled and astonished by our sublime and ridiculous pursuit of finding language, meaning, and expression in sound and silence. With Open Music, I want to create an intimate space in which audiences can get a little closer to this ineffable creative path. 

For this series, I invite a musician – generally a composer, though not always – to open their brain onto the stage through a concert of their own design. It might include some music they've written, but more importantly, it will include music and perhaps art in other forms that inspires and informs their work. Caroline Shaw, a friend and colleague for nearly a decade, is an absolute dream guest for our first concert: she is brilliant, kind, relentlessly creative, and an eloquent advocate not only for her own work, but for any art that’s important to her. I am thrilled to have this opportunity to introduce her to the OSO community.” 

—Gabriel Kahane



Caroline Shaw

Read bio


Gabriel Kahane

Read bio



You Might Also Like

DECEMBER 7, 8 & 9, 2019

Prokofiev’s Fifth

Prokofiev’s richly melodic Fifth Symphony shimmers with the joy of one of the happiest times in his life.

MARCH 14, 15 & 16, 2020

Berio’s Sinfonia by Rose Bond

Portland’s own media artist Rose Bond crafts eye-popping animation to illuminate Berio’s epic music.