Go to "Plan Your Visit" for patron safety guidelines.

November 1–4, 2019

Stephen Hough Plays Mendelssohn

Although he composed his First Symphony during a cold Leipzig winter, Robert Schumann later claimed, “I wrote the symphony in that rush of spring which carries a man away even in his old age, and comes over him anew every year.” Pianist Stephen Hough performs Mendelssohn’s glittering Piano Concerto, a hidden gem full of fire and drama. Classical Series Concert

Clemens Schuldt, conductor
Stephen Hough, piano

L. Boulanger: Of a Sad Evening
L. Boulanger: Of a Spring Morning
Mendelssohn: Piano Concerto No. 1
Schumann: Symphony No. 1, “Spring”

Read program notes

Watch Concert Conversation

Tickets start at $24

Enter Promo Code:

Save 10% when you buy this concert as part of a Classical Series

Experience favorites of the repertoire like Beethoven’s Fifth and Pictures at an Exhibition, all while enjoying exclusive benefits, including free exchanges. 

Learn More

You Might Also Like

NOVEMBER 16, 17 & 18, 2019

Mahler’s Sixth

Carlos Kalmar leads the orchestra in Mahler’s thrillingly brooding Sixth Symphony.

NOVEMBER 23, 24 & 25, 2019

Sibelius’ The Tempest

Sibelius meets Shakespeare, as a live theatrical cast brings drama to the Finnish composer’s moving incidental music.