February 6–8, 2021

Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 5 (Canceled)

In accordance with federal and state guidelines to prevent the further spread of COVID-19, Oregon Symphony concerts scheduled through June 14, 2021, in Portland and Salem are canceled. Oregon Symphony plans to resume live, in-person performances in Fall 2021.  View full details

Sit back and enjoy the exhilarating emotional journey and melodic brilliance of Tchaikovsky’s Fifth. Thomas Adès’ new concerto – described as a successor to Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue by The Boston Globe – will be delectable in the hands of his longtime friend Kirill Gerstein. Lithuanian composer Raminta Šerkšnytė opens the program with her blazing evocation of the power of fire.


Raminta Šerkšnytė: Fires
Thomas Adès: Piano Concerto
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 5


Carlos Kalmar, conductor
Kirill Gerstein, piano
Oregon Symphony

This concert is part of Classical Series A


Individual concert tickets will be available this fall
Already a 2020/21 Season subscriber? Log in now to add this concert to your season. 

Select a Date

  • SAT, FEB 6, 2021, 7:30 PM
  • SUN, FEB 7, 2021, 2:00 PM
  • MON, FEB 8, 2021, 7:30 PM

Enter Promo Code:

Tickets start at $25

You might also like

FEBRUARY 27, 28 & MARCH 1, 2021

Mendelssohn’s Scottish Symphony & Gabriel Kahane

Two pieces, written centuries apart, explore the consequences of retreating from the bustling realities of contemporary life.

MARCH 5, 7 & 8, 2021

Schubert 9 & Dvořák

Revel in the joyful sounds of Schubert’s Ninth Symphony – his final orchestral masterpiece – and Dvořák’s lively Piano Concerto.