Go to "Plan Your Visit" for patron safety guidelines.

April 29–May 2, 2022

Dvořák’s New World Symphony

From folk music to classical and jazz, this concert explores the question “What makes music American?” Dvořák’s Ninth Symphony, inspired by his experience traveling the United States, is vibrant with American folk and spiritual elements. Wynton Marsalis’ newly composed Tuba Concerto fuses classical music with jazz to create a uniquely American hybrid.


Tchaikovsky/Ellington/Tyzik: Selections from The Nutcracker Suite
Wynton Marsalis: Tuba Concerto (Oregon Symphony co-commission)
Dvořák: Symphony No. 9, “From the New World”

Read Program Listing
Read Program Notes


David Danzmayr, Conductor
JáTtik Clark, Tuba

This concert is part of Classical Series A


Already a 2021/22 Season subscriber? Log in now to add this concert to your season. 

Enter Promo Code:

Tickets start at $25

You Might Also Like

FEBRUARY 5, 6 & 7, 2022

Rodrigo & Dawson: Symphonic Folk

Experience a rich blend of classical and folk music with Joaquín Rodrigo’s Concierto de Aranjuez and William L. Dawson’s Negro Folk Symphony.

JUNE 4, 5 & 6, 2022

Respighi’s Pines of Rome

Ottorino Respighi’s Pines of Rome never fails to astonish with its vibrant portrayal of the city of Rome through music.