June 1–3, 2024

The Music of Dance: Schubert & Strauss

The lyricism of music inspired by dance takes center stage in Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony and Strauss’ Rosenkavalier Suite — their rhythms and melodies evoking the opulence of 19th-century Vienna. Plus, violinist Simone Porter paints musical portraits of Argentina in an arrangement of Piazzolla’s tango-infused Four Seasons of Buenos Aires.

*The June 1 concert takes place at 2 pm due to the Starlight Parade


Giancarlo Castro D'Addona: De mi tierra (World Premiere and Oregon Symphony Commission)
Piazzolla (arr. Desyatnikov): Cuatros Estaciones Porteñas (The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires)
Schubert: Symphony No. 8, “Unfinished”
R. Strauss: Suite from Der Rosenkavalier

Read Program Listing
Read Program Notes


David Danzmayr, Conductor
Simone Porter, Violin


This concert is part of Classical Series A


Already a 2023/24 Season subscriber? Log in now to add this concert to your season.

Enter Promo Code:

Tickets start at $25