May 10–12, 2025

Impressions of the Sea

Inspired by a lifelong passion for the sea, Debussy's La Mer shimmers with orchestral colors in musical portraits of tranquil waves, brewing storms, and the sun's celestial journey across a radiant sky. And soloist Paul Huang brings his "stylish and polished playing" (Strad) to Korngold's Violin Concerto, which marries European romanticism with the gilded glamour of Hollywood film scores.


Katherine Balch: Leaf Catalogue  Mountain icon
Korngold: Violin Concerto in D Major
Mendelssohn: Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage Mountain icon
Debussy: La Mer (The Sea) Mountain icon


Jun Märkl, Conductor
Paul Huang, Violin


Mountain icon This symbol indicates programs and pieces that exemplify the season theme, The Nature of Music. Learn more at


This concert is part of Classical Series B and is eligible for the Choose Your Own Series.


Already a 2024/25 Season subscriber? Log in now to add this concert to your season.

Tickets to this concert are currently available for subscribers only. Subject to availability, single tickets to this concert will be available to the general public on August 1. To purchase a subscription, click here.

Select a Date

  • SAT, MAY 10, 2025, 7:30 PM
  • SUN, MAY 11, 2025, 2:00 PM
  • MON, MAY 12, 2025, 7:30 PM

Enter Promo Code:


May 17-19, 2025

Gershwin's Rhapsody in Blue

Makato Ozone delivers his "thrilling, unabashedly personal rendition" (New York Times) of Gershwin's Rhapsody in Blue — a jazzy, kaleidoscopic tribute to the kinetic energy of America's cities in the 1920s. And composed the same year as the Gershwin, Bartók's Miraculous Mandarin channels the turmoil of post–World War I Europe in a scandalous tale of sex, violence, and the supernatural.

October 5-7, 2024

Brahms 2: Moments in Light and Darkness

From the wistful horn calls of its opening bars to the life-affirming radiance of the closing chorale, Brahms's Second Symphony conjures bucolic landscapes where sunlit serenity and ominous storm clouds share the sky. Plus, Composer-in-Residence Andy Akiho premieres a new concerto for cellist Jeffrey Zeigler, who performs with "unforced simplicity and beauty of tone" (New York Times).