June 6–9, 2025

Scheherazade and Celilo Falls

Featuring fantastical worlds of bewitching lovers and swashbuckling sailors, Rimsky-Korsakov's Scheherazade recalls the queen who saves her life — and those of 1,000 women — with her stories. And Principal Cello and composer Nancy Ives merges music, poetry, and photography to tell the story of the majestic falls of Celilo, Oregon, Although the construction of the Dalles Dam destroyed this central site of Native American life for over 15,000 years, the traditions and resilience of the community live on today.


Nancy Ives: Celilo Falls: We Were There (New Version for Orchestra) - text by Ed Edmo (Shoshone-Bannock) and images by Joe Cantrell (Cherokee) Mountain icon
Rimsky-Korsakov: Scheherazade 


David Danzmayr, Conductor


Mountain icon This symbol indicates programs and pieces that exemplify the season theme, The Nature of Music. Learn more at orsymphony.org/natureofmusic.


This concert is part of Classical Series A


Already a 2024/25 Season subscriber? Log in now to add this concert to your season. 

Tickets to this concert are currently available for subscribers only. Subject to availability, single tickets to this concert will be available to the general public on August 1. To purchase a subscription, click here.

Select a Date

  • FRI, JUN 6, 2025, 7:30 PM
  • SAT, JUN 7, 2025, 7:30 PM
  • SUN, JUN 8, 2025, 2:00 PM
  • MON, JUN 9, 2025, 7:30 PM

Enter Promo Code:


May 10-12, 2025

Impressions of the Sea

Inspired by a lifelong passion for the sea, Debussy's La Mer shimmers with orchestral colors in musical portraits of tranquil waves, brewing storms, and the sun's celestial journey across a radiant sky. And soloist Paul Huang brings his "stylish and polished playing" (Strad) to Korngold's Violin Concerto, which marries European romanticism with the gilded glamour of Hollywood film scores.

February 1-3, 2025

Rachmaninoff's Dances

Written as Stalin's Great Terror campaign made music a matter of life and death for Soviet composers, Shostakovich's Fifth Symphony is a searing search for hope in a time of darkness and oppression. Fear and vulnerability also hover over Prokofiev's Second Violin Concerto, its hushed laments and demonic dissonances mirroring the composer's anguish upon his imminent return to the Soviet Union.