November 1–4, 2019

Stephen Hough Plays Mendelssohn

Although he composed his First Symphony during a cold Leipzig winter, Robert Schumann later claimed, “I wrote the symphony in that rush of spring which carries a man away even in his old age, and comes over him anew every year.” Pianist Stephen Hough performs Mendelssohn’s glittering Piano Concerto, a hidden gem full of fire and drama. Classical Series Concert

Clemens Schuldt, conductor
Stephen Hough, piano

L. Boulanger: Of a Sad Evening
L. Boulanger: Of a Spring Morning
Mendelssohn: Piano Concerto No. 1
Schumann: Symphony No. 1, “Spring”

Select a Date

  • FRI, NOV 1, 2019, 7:30 PM
  • SAT, NOV 2, 2019, 7:30 PM
  • SUN, NOV 3, 2019, 2:00 PM
  • MON, NOV 4, 2019, 7:30 PM

Enter Promo Code:

Tickets start at $24

This concert is currently available as part of a 2019/20 subscription.

Learn More & Buy Tickets

Single tickets will be available in August 2019. 

Current subscriber? Log in to add this concert to your series. 

You Might Also Like

SEPTEMBER 28, 29 & 30, 2019

Brahms’ Second

Brahms’ jubilant Second evokes the burbling streams and fresh meadows of the Austrian countryside.

NOVEMBER 16, 17 & 18, 2019

Mahler’s Sixth

Carlos Kalmar leads the orchestra in Mahler’s thrillingly brooding Sixth Symphony.