October 12–14, 2019

Stravinsky’s Firebird

A magical and mysterious showpiece, Stravinksy’s Firebird contains some of his best-loved music, from the primeval Infernal Dance to its spectacular, breath-taking finale. Percussionist Colin Currie returns to premiere a concerto written expressly for him by composer Andy Akiho, lauded by The New York Times as “mold-breaking,” “dramatic,” and “vital.” Classical Series Concert

David Danzmayr, conductor
Colin Currie, percussion

Ives: Three Places in New England
• Andy Akiho: Percussion Concerto (World premiere commission)
Stravinsky: The Firebird Suite (1945 version)

Select a Date

  • SAT, OCT 12, 2019, 7:30 PM
  • SUN, OCT 13, 2019, 2:00 PM
  • MON, OCT 14, 2019, 7:30 PM

Enter Promo Code:

Tickets start at $24

This concert is currently available as part of a 2019/20 subscription.

Learn More & Buy Tickets

Single tickets will be available in August 2019. 

Current subscriber? Log in to add this concert to your series. 

You Might Also Like

NOVEMBER 16, 17 & 18, 2019

Mahler’s Sixth

Carlos Kalmar leads the orchestra in Mahler’s thrillingly brooding Sixth Symphony.

DECEMBER 7, 8 & 9, 2019

Prokofiev’s Fifth

Prokofiev’s richly melodic Fifth Symphony shimmers with the joy of one of the happiest times in his life.