April 9–12, 2021

Dvořák’s New World (Canceled)

In accordance with federal and state guidelines to prevent the further spread of COVID-19, Oregon Symphony concerts scheduled through June 14, 2021, in Portland and Salem are canceled. Oregon Symphony plans to resume live, in-person performances in Fall 2021.  View full details

One of the most popular symphonies ever composed, Dvořák’s yearning musical postcard from the New World never ceases to amaze. Grammy-winning violinist Augustin Hadelich returns to premiere a new concerto from Irish-American composer Donnacha Dennehy, whose music fuses Gaelic influences with the pulsating rhythms of minimalism. 


Copland: Music for the Theatre
Donnacha Dennehy: Violin Concerto (World premiere commission)
Dvořák: Symphony No. 9, “From the New World”


Markus Stenz, conductor
Augustin Hadelich,
Oregon Symphony


This concert is part of Classical Series C


Individual concert tickets will be available this fall
Already a 2020/21 Season subscriber? Log in now to add this concert to your season. 

Tickets start at $25

Enter Promo Code:

You might also like

MAY 8, 9 & 10, 2021

Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto

Canadian violinist Blake Pouliot stars in one of the most dazzling showpieces in the repertoire.

MAY 22, 23 & 24, 2021

Carmina Burana

Witness the awe-inspiring spectacle of Carl Orff’s outrageous choral-orchestral classic.