November 4–6, 2023

Tchaikovsky’s Pathétique

“I have put my whole soul into this symphony,” Tchaikovsky wrote of his Pathétique, with its melancholic melodies, defiant dances, and a harrowing final statement. Plus, Composer-in-Residence Andy Akiho performs his musical tribute to visual artist Jun Kaneko’s storied career featuring one of Jun Kaneko's colossal sculptures on stage, along with video projected on the big screen.


Dvořák: Othello Overture
Andy Akiho: Sculptures: Concert for Orchestra and Video (Oregon Symphony Co-commission and West Coast premiere)
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6, “Pathétique”

Read Program Listing
Read Program Notes


David Danzmayr, Conductor  
Andy Akiho, Composer & Performer


This production is presented in partnership with Shakespeare's First Folio: 1623–2023, a public humanities project at Portland State University commemorating Shakespeare’s legacy. For more information, go to: Shakespeare’s First Folio: 1623-2023.


This concert is part of Classical Series B


Already a 2023/24 Season subscriber? Log in now to add this concert to your season.

Enter Promo Code:

Tickets start at $25